Tl;dr – I’m very excited

Standard

Too late for second-guessing
Too late to go back to sleep
It’s time to trust my instincts
Close my eyes and leap!

It’s time to try
Defying gravity
I think I’ll try
Defying gravity
And you can’t pull me down!

Defying Gravity | Wicked

I figured I would give a nod to my love of performing arts there. Nice touch, right? A few updates on my residency experience:

I, Professor

Once upon a time, I was deathly afraid of being in front of people. My freshman year of undergrad, I had to give a presentation for the first time…and I might have cried. It was rather a disaster. But I will deny that if you ever ask me about it. Through a series of fortunate and unfortunate events, with the aid of people who considered it their life’s mission to nudge me out of my comfort zone (thanks guys…I guess?), I eventually found myself at home (or at least able to say competent things) in front of people.

Remember how I said I was preparing to co-teach as part of my rotation this semester? Well, guess what!!?

A few weeks ago, I was unexpectedly offered an opportunity to adjunct for an Introduction to Information Literacy class at one of our sister universities this semester. The course is an undergraduate three credit hour course and teaches students how “to define their information needs, search for information effectively, make logical arguments, understand the different forms information can take, critically assess information they find and present data in an appropriate way.”

I’m really excited about the opportunity to teach my own course. It should be a rewarding experiences, with some challenges along the way.

Conference or bust

I also recently found out that two of my proposals were accepted for conferences. The first is at the Digital Blackness Conference at Rutgers in a few months. It’s my first “real” conference participation and I’m submitting and presenting a paper on collective memory, identity, and African American genealogy. I get to talk about cool things!!

The second proposal was one I’m participating in as as part of a panel. We’ll be presenting at the National Diversity in Libraries Conference this summer. Can’t wait to see how that develops. *happy emoji*

R&I Developments

And then back at the library, I’m gearing up for teaching in the Research and Instruction (R&I) department. I just heard back from a faculty member confirming for a course integrated workshop on teaching with primary sources in middle and secondary education. I had developed a sample workshop outline and contacted different faculty in the education department to gauge interest levels, so I’m super excited to both get a response and to work with the students next month. I mean, this month. Wow, it’s February already!

I’ll also be shadowing more librarians and preparing lessons for instruction in February and March. Needless to say, there will likely be lots of upcoming posts on instruction reflection, pedagogy, and information literacy, because it’s coming out of my ears at this point.

Additionally, I’m in the process of working with the SAGE program at the Center for Student Diversity, to provide assistance with resources, library support, and just get to know more about the program. One of my interests when I began this position was working with CSD, as well as involvement in supporting the retention of “at-risk” student populations, so that’s exciting.

Here’s to taking chances, learning new things, and defying (sometimes self-inflicted) gravity!

(There are a lot of exclamation marks in this post…)

Leave a Reply

