A Picture is Worth a Thousand Words, soo…

Standard
I found ittt!!

I found ittt!!

Taking notes on materials to include as representative images

Taking notes on materials to include as representative images

Found a folder labeled "Smithsonian Institution"

Just doing my job

My work station, where I stay very busy. At the time the photograph was taken, I was researching photographic processes and imputing metadata for item level cataloging.

My work station, where I stay very busy. At the time the photograph was taken, I was researching photographic processes and inputting metadata for item level cataloging.

It’s almost August 1st and I find myself with a little over two weeks left in my internship and summer term. Just today I was thinking that time is moving sooo slooowly. Apparently, that changed while I wasn’t looking. So what will I be doing with my remaining two weeks? Let’s see…

This past Friday, I had the opportunity to meet the president of the foundation that gifted AAA with the collection I have been processing.  In working with the collection, I did a great deal of research trying to identify photographs of family members. I managed to identify most of them, but there was an additional folder containing photographs that I could not verify. The man was kind enough to come and assist in identifying individuals, for the purpose of the finding aid (and researchers everywhere). I was pleased to find that I had been right on the mark with the individuals I had identified and he was impressed by my efforts and how much knowledge I had garnered on the family. Didn’t you know? Genealogy is my thing, 🙂 When he came, the president of the foundation left another stack of papers to be integrated into the collection. So I will be spending time editing the finding aid and collection organization to make sure these papers have a home.

As I mentioned, I have been assisting the Digital Librarian with item level cataloging. I completed the initial stage last week. This week, she (the librarian) looked over my work and supervised me as I finalized a few catalog entries and approved them to be posted online. Satisfied that I was on the right track, she left me to finish the remainder on my own. It’s exciting to see your work go live. You can see a sample record I worked on here. I will be finishing the remainder of the item level catalog records this week.

Also (I know, I know, you’re probably thinking: how many projects is she working on??), I have been assisting the Information Systems Manager with developing some ideas/brainstorming for an institution-wide transcription project. Over the past week, I have been collecting feedback on crowdsourced transcription platforms, as well as trying them myself and compiling my own reflections. I sent that information to her this morning and will likely meet with her to determine the next step sometime this week.

Lastly, I was invited to write a blog post for the AAA blog, focusing on my experiences in processing. So I need to be thinking about my approach…in the two weeks I have left. I guess I should get on that.

Until next time…Cheers!

About A. M.

Information professional focusing on academic librarianship through a critical lens. Research interests include education and multiliteracies, critical race theory, gender studies, and African American studies. I am currently employed as an academic librarian. I am also a family genealogist in the process of uncovering the people and places behind my ancestry. I enjoy digging up new facts, reading, and writing in my free time. My opinions and thoughts are my own.

Leave a Reply

